What do US galleries and working artists sell, and what does it cost?
Paintings, above all abstract ones, at USD 2–10 per square inch for living artists without a national name, which is about USD 3,100–15,500 per m², and far more for the names. Abstract led the 1stDibs 2025 designer survey (48%), with landscape and figurative painting at 33% each, and paintings rank first among the art forms designers prefer in its 2026 edition 238303. The subjects recurring across the originals sources sampled in 2025–2026 are abstraction, marine and wildlife realism, floral and figurative work, and the traditional oil realism of societies such as Oil Painters of America 1513.
US price logic is by area. A March 2026 commissioning guide puts artist pricing at USD 0.50, 2.50 and 10.00 per square inch (low, average, high), roughly USD 775, 3,900 and 15,500 per m², with urban centres 15–40% above the national average 5. A July 2026 guide brackets emerging-artist originals at USD 3,000–8,000 for 48 × 60 in and up, and mid-career artists at USD 8,000–30,000 or more for the same sizes, about USD 1,600–4,300 and USD 4,300–16,100 per m² 8.
Listings sit inside those bands. A 48 × 60 in acrylic abstract by Texas artist Karl James Lubbering is offered from San Antonio on 1stDibs at USD 3,800, about USD 2,050 per m² (2026) 9. Seattle painter Melanie Biehle listed 40 × 60 in abstracts at USD 4,300–4,800 in June 2025, shipped rolled 239. One artist's scale, quoted on a Scottsdale gallery's blog, reaches USD 9,500 for 48 × 60 in, about USD 5,100 per m² (September 2024) 7. At the top, Laguna Beach marine painter Wyland lists a 48 × 60 in original at USD 119,110 list, or USD 59,555 at his 'collector' price, in his 2024–2025 price book (about USD 41 per square inch at list), and his smallest 8 × 10 in originals at USD 15,000 list run to USD 187 per square inch 11.
Most galleries in the target cities publish no prices: Bonner David in Scottsdale, Laura Rathe in Houston and Dallas, Markowicz in Miami and Martin Lawrence's six galleries all show “inquire” or price on request (September 2026) 291292293290. The open-price venues are fairs: the Affordable Art Fair New York (16–20 September 2026) shows 400-plus artists at USD 100–12,000, the Superfair sells direct from 600-plus artists a year in ten US cities, and Scottsdale's Celebration of Fine Art puts 100 artists in working studios for ten weeks each winter 29529612. Auction spending on artists born after 1974 fell 26.5% in 2025, so the speculative tier of emerging work has cooled 3.
What do the home stores sell, and how big does it go?
Prints and giclées, a few hand-embellished or “hand-painted” reproductions, and almost nothing over 150 cm; the chains stock no originals. Living Spaces' “painting” filter holds 13 abstract canvases at USD 79–295, none described as hand-painted, and its 298 “large” pieces, 40 × 50 to 60 × 40 in at USD 215–650, are all prints or photography (12 September 2026) 264265. IKEA US lists 39 items at USD 34.99–119.99 and advises a showcase piece of 2–4 ft, about 70% of the sofa's width 266. Pottery Barn, West Elm, CB2 and Arhaus sell giclées, some with painted accents, at USD 152–2,499; because these retailers block automated price checks, their figures come from archived product pages dated November 2025 to May 2026 278279280282285286302.
| Retailer and item | Size | Medium | Price (USD) | Date read |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| IKEA PJÄTTERYD “Mist in the forest”, 9 pieces 266 | 70½ × 44 in (179 × 112 cm) | 119.99 | Sept 2026 | |
| Living Spaces “Jade Horizon” gallery wrap 264 | 40 × 50 in (102 × 127 cm) | Abstract canvas, not described as hand-painted | 250 | Sept 2026 |
| Living Spaces “Coastline Cruise” framed 265 | 60 × 40 in (152 × 102 cm) | Photograph on canvas | 650 | Sept 2026 |
| Wayfair / Willa Arlo “Glowing from Afar” 288 | 24 × 36 in (61 × 91 cm) | Listed as print; URL says “100% hand painted” | 99.99 | Aug 2025 |
| West Elm “A Day at Sea” by Minted, framed 282 | 40 × 30 in (102 × 76 cm) | Print, wood frame | 420 | Feb 2026 |
| Pottery Barn “Abstract Oceanscape” 279 | 35 × 35 in (89 × 89 cm) | Giclée, hand-embellished | 449 | May 2026 |
| Pottery Barn “After A Hard Day” 280 | 60 × 53 in (152 × 135 cm) | Giclée with hand-applied glaze | 799 | May 2026 |
| CB2 “Tribus” by Patrick St. Germain 287 | 72 × 48 in (183 × 122 cm) | Reproduction emulating sand, acrylic and epoxy; floating frame | 799 (sale 639) | Feb 2026 |
| CB2 “Rocky Home” by Jeffrey Fitzgerald 286 | 61 × 61 in (155 × 155 cm) | Framed acrylic-painting reproduction | 2,499 (sale 1,999) | Nov 2025 |
| Arhaus “Abstract Landscape”, Kate Marker 285 | Not stated | Giclée on paper under acrylic glass | 820–900 | Feb 2026 |
| overstockArt “Sunflowers” 274 | 20 × 24 in (51 × 61 cm) | Hand-painted oil reproduction, overseas studio | 189 | Sept 2026 |
The scale ceiling is the finding. CB2's 72 × 48 in “Tribus” and Pottery Barn's 60 × 53 in canvas are the largest single pieces captured at a national chain, and both are reproductions 287280. Z Gallerie markets a “hand-painted art” category, but its page blocked fetching and no price per size could be captured 15.
Who else supplies wall art: importers, trade suppliers, marketplaces and framers
Hand-painted reproduction importers at about USD 450–700 per m², trade-only decorative suppliers with hidden prices, and online marketplaces where originals start around USD 300. overstockArt of Wichita, Kansas, sells old-master reproductions painted by overseas studios in seven standard sizes up to 36 × 48 in, with “Starry Night Over the Rhone” at USD 179 unframed or USD 199–219 framed at 20 × 24 in, and custom sizes in up to 8 weeks 272273275. Paintingforhome, a Shenzhen and Hong Kong seller, prices one textured abstract from USD 586 at 30 × 45 in to USD 2,796 at 80 × 120 in rolled, about USD 450–670 per m², and does not state where it is painted 276277.
The trade tier is opaque by design. Wendover Art Group, a self-described domestic art manufacturer for designers, hospitality and senior living, lists 9,690 abstract items behind a “Your Price” trade login 269270. Leftbank Art in La Mirada, California, is trade-only with 30,000-plus pieces, and an Austin designer names it as her source for reasonably priced signed work 271106. For offices, CorporateLobbyArt.com sells commissioned colour-field canvases cut to wall dimensions at USD 400 per square foot, about USD 4,300 per m² 58. One US art vendor's guide puts gallery trade discounts at 10–20%, some up to 30%, and Saatchi Art runs residential and hospitality trade tiers with custom-size commissions but no published percentages 2627. Online, UGallery shows 13,802 exclusive works with small oils at USD 300–1,500 258259, Saatchi Art keeps a 40% commission 256, and Houzz's wall-art page is a directory of 1,499 local artists for hire, not a shop 294.
What buyers complain about is harder to document than what they pay; Reddit's decorating forums, where import complaints would live, blocked server-side requests during this research 254. The clearest signal is labelling: a Wayfair canvas whose URL reads “100% hand painted” is typed “Print” in its spec table, with 1,610 reviews at 4.7 stars 288, and a mid-tier hotel's art is typically produced by preferred artists for a royalty fee or composed from stock image databases 187. Framing is a real ceiling: Framebridge charges USD 265 up to 24 × 34 in and USD 365 up to 32 × 40 in, its largest mail-in size (40 × 60 in in its stores), so anything bigger goes to a store or a local custom framer, where custom sizes are quoted at 6–8 weeks 2526.
What does a square metre of wall art cost in the United States?
About USD 60–420 per m² for printed canvas, USD 360–1,050 per m² for reproductions and hand-painted imports, and USD 1,600–16,000 per m² for originals by living US artists, a spread of roughly 25 to 250 times; a name artist runs to USD 64,000 per m² at list price, half that at his 'collector' price. The per-m² figures are calculated from listed prices and sizes captured on single days, so treat them as a map, not a quote 264276811.
| Tier | Example | Size | Price (USD) | Per m² (calculated) | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1. Printed canvas | IKEA PJÄTTERYD 9-piece print 266 | 179 × 112 cm | 119.99 | 60 | Sept 2026 |
| Wayfair wrapped canvas, listed as print 288 | 61 × 91 cm | 99.99 | 180 | Aug 2025 | |
| Living Spaces framed photo canvas 265 | 152 × 102 cm | 650 | 420 | Sept 2026 | |
| 2. Reproductions and hand-painted imports | CB2 “Tribus” reproduction, framed 287 | 183 × 122 cm | 799 | 360 | Feb 2026 |
| Pottery Barn glazed giclée 280 | 152 × 135 cm | 799 | 390 | May 2026 | |
| Paintingforhome hand-painted abstract, rolled 276 | 203 × 305 cm | 2,796 | 450 | Sept 2026 | |
| overstockArt hand-painted reproduction 273 | 51 × 61 cm | 179 | 580 | Sept 2026 | |
| CB2 “Rocky Home” reproduction, framed 286 | 155 × 155 cm | 2,499 | 1,040 | Nov 2025 | |
| 3. Originals by living US artists | Emerging artist, guide range 8 | 122 × 152 cm | 3,000–8,000 | 1,600–4,300 | July 2026 |
| Karl Lubbering acrylic, 1stDibs 9 | 122 × 152 cm | 3,800 | 2,050 | 2026 | |
| Melanie Biehle, direct from studio 239 | 102 × 152 cm | 4,300–4,800 | 2,800–3,100 | June 2025 | |
| Hang Art, San Francisco 289 | 122 × 122 cm | 6,500 | 4,400 | Sept 2026 | |
| Mid-career artist, guide range 8 | 122 × 152 cm | 8,000–30,000+ | 4,300–16,100 | July 2026 | |
| Wyland 11 | 122 × 152 cm | 119,110 list (59,555 'collector' price) | 64,000 (32,000) | 2024–2025 |
Tiers 1 and 2 overlap above 150 cm: CB2's 183 × 122 cm framed reproduction works out at USD 360 per m², below Living Spaces' 152 × 102 cm framed photo at USD 420, and the Shenzhen import is flat at about USD 450 per m² from 30 × 45 in to 80 × 120 in, which suggests that at this scale price is set more by frame and format than by whether a hand touched the canvas 287265276. The commission floor in tier 3, USD 0.50–1.00 per square inch or USD 775–1,550 per m², sits just above tier 2, so moving from a reproduction to a signed original from a working painter means at least a doubling per m² and a wait of 5–12 weeks to 2–6 months 524026.
Where do made-to-order originals fit?
In the gap between tier 2 and tier 3: signed, hand-painted originals above 150 cm, made in weeks rather than months, priced by quote rather than by a published per-square-inch rate. No national chain captured here stocks a hand-painted original, the reproduction importer stops at 36 × 48 in as a standard size and takes up to 8 weeks for custom, and the one importer with a public large-format ladder does not state where its canvases are painted 264275276277. On the other side, working painters take a 25–50% deposit and designers plan 2–6 months for a commission, while 58% of cross-border parcels arrive within 7 days and 82% of US shoppers who had returned an online purchase rate free returns as important 261821.
iHomeArt's catalogue is 1,455 original works painted to order in any size, listed up to 254 cm and available larger; it quotes within one business day and publishes no prices, so which tier a piece prices in is a quote question, not a claim this page can make. What can be stated is the process: about one week to paint and 3–7 days in transit, 10–13 days door to door, free insured shipping by DHL, FedEx or USPS, progress photos or video with stage-by-stage approval, each piece signed with a certificate of authenticity, minimum order one piece with volume pricing from ten, and rolled, stretched or framed finishes. The approval step stands in for the returns habit, and the wait is far shorter than the local commission norm but longer than the 7-day parcel norm, so it has to be explained up front 211826.
Two caveats. Buying from a screen and from unfamiliar names is now common among wealthy collectors: more than half of women collectors bought work by artists new to them, 51% of those buying from dealers had bought via Instagram, and 37% commissioned directly in 2025 9091. But origin is unresolved: in a 2007 Gallup poll 65% of Americans said they were avoiding Chinese-made products, no newer comparable survey was found, yet 43% of US buyers' most recent cross-border purchases in 2025 were from sellers in China, so a US-facing seller should lead with the painter, the signature and the certificate rather than the country 3220. The gap is widest where local tiers stop: two-storey great rooms and foyers, which by derivation from sourced ceiling heights want single canvases of 180–250 cm, and 20–30 ft (6–9 m) condo walls under 9–10 ft ceilings, which want panoramics 150–250 cm wide and under 120 cm tall; these are inferences from room dimensions, not sizes any source states, and they are the formats the catalogue's 106 panoramic works and paint-larger policy cover 135148125.
Questions buyers in United States ask
- How much does an original painting by a US artist cost?
- A July 2026 US guide brackets emerging-artist originals at USD 3,000–8,000 for 48 × 60 in (122 × 152 cm) and up, and mid-career artists at USD 8,000–30,000 or more for the same sizes 8. Listings match: a Texas artist's 48 × 60 in acrylic is USD 3,800 on 1stDibs (2026) 9.
- Do US home stores sell hand-painted originals?
- Not in the catalogues captured. Living Spaces' “painting” filter holds 13 abstract canvases at USD 79–295, none described as hand-painted, and its 298 large pieces are all prints or photography (September 2026) 264265. Pottery Barn's “hand embellished” canvases are giclées with painted accents, and CB2's 72 × 48 in “Tribus” is a framed reproduction (2026) 279287.
- What is the largest painting I can buy off the shelf?
- About 150–183 cm on the long side, and it will be a reproduction: CB2's 72 × 48 in (183 × 122 cm) “Tribus” at USD 799 and Pottery Barn's 60 × 53 in canvas at USD 799 were the largest captured (2026) 287280. overstockArt's largest standard hand-painted reproduction is 36 × 48 in 275.
- How long does a commissioned painting take in the United States?
- A vendor trade guide (April 2026) gives 2–6 months and a 25–50% deposit as the commission norm 26, and one portrait painter pricing at USD 2.50 per square inch quotes 5–12 weeks 240. iHomeArt's process is about one week to paint plus 3–7 days transit, 10–13 days door to door, with stage-by-stage photo approval.
- How much is a square metre of wall art in each tier?
- Calculated from listed prices: about USD 60–420 per m² for printed canvas, USD 360–1,050 per m² for reproductions and hand-painted imports, and USD 1,600–16,100 per m² for originals by emerging to mid-career US artists, with a name artist such as Wyland at about USD 64,000 per m² at list price, USD 32,000 at his 'collector' price (2024–2026) 266265287286811.
- What discount do interior designers get on art in the US?
- According to one US art vendor's trade guide (April 2026), galleries give verified designers 10–20% off, some up to 30%, and require a business licence, tax ID and portfolio to enrol 26. Saatchi Art runs residential and hospitality trade tiers with tiered discounts and custom-size commissions but publishes no percentages (September 2026) 27.
Working with us from United States
Send a wall size, a palette or a reference code. We quote within one business day, paint to your dimensions, send progress photographs for approval, and deliver free and insured in about ten to thirteen days.
Request a quoteSources
- US Remained Largest Art Market In 2025 – Art Basel, UBS Report 2026 (Family Wealth Report) · 2026-03-12
- Art Basel and UBS Global Art Market Report 2026 · 2026-03
- Art Collectors Bet on Known Quantities Amid Market Reset | Artnet News · 2026-01
- Commissioning a Painting: Cost Guide and Price Range 2026 – Design Transition Studio · 2026-03-07
- Ask A Gallery Owner | Making Square Inch Pricing Work for Smaller Pieces – RedDotBlog · 2024-09-17
- How Much Does an Original Abstract Painting Cost in 2026? (Mosaics by Marc) · 2026-07-20
- Large Abstract Painting on Canvas, Texas Artist Karl Lubbering – 1stDibs · 2026
- Wyland 2024/2025 Originals' Price List (PDF) · 2024-06
- Celebration of Fine Art – Scottsdale · 2026-01
- 2025 National Exhibition & Convention – Oil Painters of America · 2025
- Hand Painted Art | Z Gallerie · 2026
- Cross-Border Online Shopping Statistics – Capital One Shopping Research · 2026-08-24
- Top retailers by most recent cross-border order 2025 – Statista · 2025
- Consumers Expected to Return Nearly $850 Billion in Merchandise in 2025 – NRF / Happy Returns · 2025-10-15
- Framebridge Pricing · 2026-09-12
- Where Interior Designers Buy Wall Art – Rossetti Art · 2026-04-08
- Saatchi Art Trade Program · 2026-09-12
- American Consumers Showing Aversion to 'Made in China' Label – Gallup · 2007-08
- CorporateLobbyArt.com
- Seven takeaways from the 2025 Survey of Global Collecting — Art Basel · 2025-10-24
- Art Basel and UBS Survey of Global Collecting 2025: Women and Gen Z Lead — Zarastro Art · 2025-10-25
- 5 designers share their art-sourcing secrets (Business of Home) · 2022-08-26
- Small Gains for New Single-Family Home Size – NAHB Eye On Housing · 2026-03-16
- Giuliano quick move-in home, Dunham Pointe – Toll Brothers · 2026-09-12
- Pre-war vs. Post-war: Pros, cons, and featured listings – CityRealty · 2026-05-27
- What Is Commercial Art Consultancy? - Curbed · 2023-07-04
- The 1stDibs Guide to 2025 Interior Design Trends · 2025-01-03
- First Look: Three New Large-Scale Paintings – Melanie Biehle (Substack) · 2025-06-04
- Peacock Oils – Pricing · undated (retrieved 2026-09-12)
- Reddit search JSON (blocked) · 2026-09-12
- How to Price Your Artwork - Help Center - Saatchi Art
- Oil Paintings | UGallery · 2026-09-12
- All Artworks | UGallery · 2026-09-12
- Painting Wall Art | Living Spaces · 2026-09-12
- Large Wall Art | Living Spaces · 2026-09-12
- Wall Art - Framed Posters – Canvas Art - IKEA · 2026-09-12
- About Us | Wendover Art Group · 2026-09-12
- Abstract | Wendover Art Group · 2026-09-12
- Leftbank Art · 2026-09-12
- About Us | overstockArt.com · 2026-09-12
- Starry Night Over the Rhone - Hand Painted Oil Reproduction | overstockArt.com · 2026-09-12
- Sunflowers - Hand Painted Oil Reproduction | overstockArt.com · 2026-09-12
- FAQ | overstockArt.com · 2026-09-12
- Hand Painted Canvas Art | Paintingforhome (Shopify products.json) · 2026-09-12
- About Us | Paintingforhome · 2026-09-12
- White Barn Framed Canvas | Pottery Barn (Wayback snapshot) · 2025-11-13
- Abstract Oceanscape Canvas by Tricia Strickfaden | Pottery Barn (Wayback snapshot) · 2026-05-16
- After A Hard Day Canvas Print | Pottery Barn (Wayback snapshot) · 2026-05-15
- A Day at Sea Framed Wall Art by Minted for West Elm | West Elm (Wayback snapshot) · 2026-02-17
- Abstract Landscape Framed Print – Arhaus (Wayback snapshot) · 2026-02-18
- Paintings | Wall Art | CB2 (Wayback snapshot) · 2025-11-08
- 'Tribus' Framed Wall Art 72"X48" | CB2 (Wayback snapshot) · 2026-02-10
- Willa Arlo Interiors Glowing from Afar - Wrapped Canvas Painting | Wayfair (Wayback snapshot) · 2025-08-19
- Hang Art Gallery, San Francisco · 2026-09-12
- Martin Lawrence Galleries · 2026-09-12
- Bonner David Galleries · 2026-09-12
- Laura Rathe Fine Art · 2026-09-12
- Markowicz Fine Art · 2026-09-12
- Wall Art professionals | Houzz · 2026-09-12
- Affordable Art Fair New York · 2026-09-12
- The Superfair · 2026-09-12
- Access Denied | saatchiart.com (curl probe of 30 retailer homepages) · 2026-09-12
- The 1stDibs Guide to 2026 Designer Trends | The Study · 2025-11-17
Researched 2026-09-12. Prices and figures are as published by the sources on the dates shown.