What do French galleries and artists sell, and at what price?
French originals sell in three registers, and only the lowest publishes a size-based price grid. At the top, the Marais concentrates the blue-chip galleries (Perrotin, Almine Rech, Thaddaeus Ropac, David Zwirner, Templon, Karsten Greve), showing Murakami, Koons, Kiefer and Kusama with prices not disclosed 136. One step down, a July 2026 gallery guide gives indicative bands, not price lists: Haut-Marais galleries such as Sultana, Air de Paris and Marcelle Alix at around €1,500–15,000 a work, and galleries on rue Charlot and rue Debelleyme at €3,000–25,000 136. The trade body CPGA federated 309 galleries at 30 June 2025, with declared 2024 turnover of EUR 578 million, down about 6%, 66.1% of it on the primary market, and 12% of members reporting major difficulties across 2024 and the first half of 2025, a situation the CPGA calls une rupture 175. A consultant's estimate of 2,200–2,500 active galleries in France extrapolates a 2012 ministry count 176.
The affordable-original chain. Carré d'artistes works with more than 600 artists and runs galleries in the Marais, Saint-Germain (one branded grands formats), Lyon and Nice 135. It prices unique, certified paintings by format from 13 × 13 cm to 120 × 120 cm: in September 2026 the listed starting prices ran from about €110 for 13 × 13 cm to €3,800–3,900 for 120 × 120 cm depending on the day read, with 36 × 36 cm works at €499, 50 × 50 cm at €890 and 5,977 paintings in the €250–1,000 band 12134. 120 × 120 cm is the largest standard format; out-of-format works exist without a listed price 134. The works sampled in that band were figurative and regional, such as Lyon townscapes, a small sample rather than a sales split 2.
The large-format online gallery. Art Génération (Paris and Lyon) listed 305 works in its très grand format collection on 18 September 2026, roughly 90 × 138 cm to 200 × 100 cm, priced €900–8,500 with most paintings at €1,200–2,200: 150 × 100 cm at €900, 195 × 130 cm at €2,100, 146 × 114 cm at €1,500 4. It describes the range as abstract, figurative, pop art or street art, for lofts, double-height entrances and reception rooms 4.
Direct from the artist is the largest channel by headcount. In the Ipsos bva survey for Beaux Arts Magazine (1,000 people aged 16+, December 2025), the 382 buyers named the artist directly (39%), a gallery (32%), a brocante (26%), the internet (22%), a fair (19%) and auction (9%); among buyers of originals, 50% bought direct and 38% in a gallery 184. One French artist's guide (August 2025) summarises platform prices on Saatchi Art, Artmajeur, Singulart and Etsy at €150–400 for 30 × 30 or 40 × 50 cm, €400–1,000 for 50 × 70 or 60 × 80 cm and €900–3,000 or more from 80 × 100 cm, with physical galleries taking 30–50% commission; it is one seller's summary, not market data 5. Commission studios price by size: L'Art du Portrait quotes oil portraits from €240 for 35 × 25 cm to €720 for 100 × 80 cm, with a 50% deposit, five to six weeks and a validation photo before dispatch 7; Virginie Trabaud quotes €85–780 up to 70 × 50 cm and six to ten months for large formats 8; Montpellier painter Florence Laurent works up to 2 × 2 m at €660–775 9.
The secondary market sets the ceiling: auction turnover reached USD 945 million in 2025 across 131,650 lots, a mean of roughly USD 7,200 per lot, with Paris at USD 844 million, third city worldwide 12. On Catawiki, French users bought more than 40,000 modern and contemporary works in 2024, street art and pop art leading, with a JonOne canvas top at €12,000 63.
What do home stores and décor sites sell, and how large does it go?
Printed, not painted, and rarely above 120 cm in a single panel. IKEA France's wall-art category held 47 items at €14.99–69.99 on 18 September 2026, all reproductions, framed prints or printed canvases; the largest was a nine-piece set at 179 × 112 cm for €69.99 and the largest single canvas 118 × 78 cm 138. Scenolia, a French wall-décor retailer, sells printed tableaux XXL from 40 × 40 cm to 200 × 140 cm at €29–139 and up, on textile canvas, acrylic glass or aluminium Dibond, with 60 × 40, 90 × 60 and 180 × 130 cm as its popular formats and jungle scenes, black-and-white illustration, world maps, beaches, geometry and misty landscapes as best-sellers 120. Its 2026 trend range runs €29–199, and Beige (23 items), Green (19) and Black/White (18) were the most stocked colour tags in September 2026 158. For the wall a canvas cannot cover, the same retailer sells panoramic wallpaper up to 600 cm wide 157. Maison et Vie reported in March 2026 that many interior architects now prefer a single large-format work over a cluster of small frames 155, which suggests why the print retailers lean on multi-panel sets to reach that scale (inference).
| Item | Seller | Size | Medium | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PJÄTTERYD 'Forêt embrumée', 9-piece set | IKEA France | 179 × 112 cm | Printed canvas | €69.99 (Sept 2026) 138 |
| BLODFLÄDER 'La Seine à Giverny' | IKEA France | 118 × 78 cm | Reproduction print | €59.99 (Sept 2026) 138 |
| PJÄTTERYD 'Grand motif' | IKEA France | 118 × 78 cm | Printed canvas | €44.99 (Sept 2026) 138 |
| PJÄTTERYD panoramic | IKEA France | 140 × 56 cm | Printed canvas | €39.99 (Sept 2026) 138 |
| Tableau XXL range | Scenolia | 40 × 40 to 200 × 140 cm | Print on textile canvas, acrylic or Dibond | €29–139+ (Sept 2026) 120 |
| 'Tableau du monde' | La Maison des Tableaux (Castellón, Spain) | 146 × 96 cm | Printed canvas | €296.38 (Sept 2026) 11 |
| 'Tableau du monde' | La Maison des Tableaux | 50 × 33 cm | Printed canvas | €74.10 (Sept 2026) 11 |
| 'Guernica couleurs' | La Maison des Tableaux | Not shown | Described as hand-painted | €164.66 (Sept 2026) 140 |
| Made-to-measure canvas | Peintures-sur-toile.com | To the centimetre, incl. panoramic and 'Carré XXL' | Described as 100% hand-painted oil; workshop location not stated | From €49.90 excl. delivery (Sept 2026) 139 |
| Unique certified painting | Carré d'artistes | 36 × 36 cm | Original | €499 (Sept 2026) 2 |
| 'Carotte Printanière' | Art Génération | 150 × 100 cm | Original | €900 (Sept 2026) 4 |
The backdrop is a shrinking furniture market: EUR 13.6 billion in 2025, down 1.8% after two worse years, with the mid- and high-end furniture channel falling 3.8%, one of the steepest declines, while Fevad reports that Chinese marketplaces capture up to 85% of price-sensitive furniture and décor buyers 18220.
Who else supplies wall art in France, and what do buyers complain about?
Three more channels sit between the shelf and the gallery. Marketplaces. Singulart (Paris, 2017) lists about 12,000 artists, sells only originals and, on 2025 figures, sells about 1,700 works a month 125. Artsper's French site listed 121,060 paintings on 19 September 2026: 36% abstract, 21% figurative, 20% portrait, 18% landscape, 5% still life, supply from galleries worldwide rather than French sales 186. Artmajeur, the French artist-direct marketplace, listed about 170,000 artists at an average of about €900 with a 30–35% commission in a January 2024 comparison that put Saatchi Art at 40% and Rise Art at 42.5% 137.
The import trade. A reproduction seller's blog (February 2025) states that painted reproductions sold in France at €250–800 are all made in Asia, that a basic canvas needs at least a week of work and that French labour alone would exceed €560 a week; partisan seller copy, but it explains the price floor, and it notes that buyers assume French shops paint locally 24. Alibaba's French-language portal lists more than 1,600 reproduction paintings from suppliers in Xiamen and Shenzhen 142. Peintures-sur-toile.com does not say where its canvases are painted, and La Maison des Tableaux is registered in Castellón, Spain 139140. A French expat forum from 2009–2017 already linked Place du Tertre tourist paintings to Dafen 25, anecdotal but indicative of the association a bare 'hand-painted' label meets.
What goes wrong. The complaints on record are individual reviews, not a pattern, and they concern finish and logistics rather than the image. Artsper holds 4.6/5 on 239 Trustpilot reviews, but a two-star review from the winter of 2025–26 reports a painting that arrived unstretched despite the listing 127. The one detailed Carré d'artistes review (December 2021, from a base of two) describes a work on paper mounted on panel instead of the expected oil on canvas, with no return process documented on the site 128. Tableau Deco scores 4.1/5 on 40 reviews; complaints cite a GLS delivery failure in January 2025 and a missing hanging hook in August 2024, which the seller says was glued to the packaging 129. Singulart holds 4.4/5 on 3,031 reviews; an August 2026 review notes shipping of about four working days, and an artist criticised repeated −30% campaigns, which the company says are optional 126. A consumer guide on Temu (April 2026) warns that product photos omit scale references, so a 30 cm item can look 1.5 m 131. On rights, French distance-selling law gives 14 days to withdraw from an online art purchase, many platforms extend this to 30 days according to one gallery, and a certificate of authenticity is expected with every work 22; Singulart offers free returns within 14 days of delivery 23.
Framers and advisers. In Nice, Espace Soardi is a framer and gallery offering interior architects art advisory built into the design brief, custom framing and a mobile workshop on site during construction 68. For hotels, Muzéo supplies printed and framed works, custom wallpaper and commissions from its own workshops, including murals for the Negresco spa renovation 48.
What does a square metre of wall art cost in France?
From about €49 to about €3,850 per m², a gap of roughly 50–100 times between printed décor and chain-gallery originals at comparable sizes 134138. The per-square-metre figures below are derived from listed prices and sizes; where a seller gives no size, no rate is shown.
| Tier | Example | Size | Price | Per m² (derived) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Printed décor | IKEA PJÄTTERYD 'Grand motif' | 118 × 78 cm | €44.99 (Sept 2026) | ≈ €49 138 |
| Printed décor | La Maison des Tableaux 'Tableau du monde' | 146 × 96 cm | €296.38 (Sept 2026) | ≈ €210 11 |
| Origin-undisclosed 'hand-painted' | Peintures-sur-toile.com, made to measure | To order | From €49.90 (Sept 2026) | Size-dependent 139 |
| Large-format gallery original | Art Génération 'Carotte Printanière' | 150 × 100 cm | €900 (Sept 2026) | €600 4 |
| Large-format gallery original | Art Génération, Alain Becanne | 195 × 130 cm | €2,100 (Sept 2026) | ≈ €830 4 |
| Commission portrait | L'Art du Portrait, one person | 100 × 80 cm | €720 (Sept 2026) | €900 7 |
| Platform originals (one artist's guide) | Saatchi Art, Artmajeur, Singulart | 80 × 100 cm | €900–3,000 (Aug 2025) | €1,125–3,750 5 |
| Commission realist | Virginie Trabaud | 70 × 50 cm | €750 (Sept 2026) | ≈ €2,140 8 |
| Chain gallery original | Carré d'artistes | 120 × 120 cm | €3,800–3,900 (Sept 2026) | ≈ €2,640–2,710 1341 |
| Chain gallery original | Carré d'artistes | 36 × 36 cm | €499 (Sept 2026) | ≈ €3,850 2 |
| Marais galleries | Emerging and represented artists | Not published | €1,500–25,000 per work (July 2026) | Not applicable 136 |
Two patterns follow. Within the chain, the rate per square metre falls about 30% as the format rises from 36 cm to 120 cm, so large formats are relatively cheaper per area but absolutely rare 1. Above the chain, price attaches to the artist rather than the area: the Marais bands carry no size at all 136. Worldwide, the median auction price in 2025 was USD 600 and 80% of works sold for under USD 3,160, which suggests that most French art purchases, too, sit far below the headline records 12.
Where do painted-to-order originals fit?
In the space between 120–150 cm, where French stock stops, and the gallery tier, where the price is the name. The chain's grid ends at 120 × 120 cm 134; the large-format online gallery tops out around 200 × 100 cm 4; IKEA's largest item is a nine-piece set 138; Scenolia's 200 × 140 cm is a print 120. French commission painters quote five to six weeks 7 or six to ten months for large formats 8, and the made-to-measure sellers that go to any size do not say where the work is painted 139.
iHomeArt is the trade channel of Siji Art Hub in Foshan, China: 1,455 original hand-painted canvases, painted to order in any size, with catalogue sizes listed up to 254 cm and 106 panoramic compositions, so a 180–250 cm vertical or a 2–3 m panoramic is the normal case rather than an out-of-format request. Turnaround is about one week to paint plus three to seven days in transit, ten to thirteen days door to door, with free insured shipping by DHL, FedEx or USPS. Every piece is signed by the artist with a certificate of authenticity, progress photos or video are sent for stage-by-stage approval, and finishes are rolled, stretched or framed in gold, silver, black, white or wood. Minimum order is one piece, volume pricing starts at ten, quotes come within one business day, and there are no public prices.
The honest limits: this is not a French artist, there is no gallery or auction resale behind it, and it carries the same 'painted in Asia' label as the €250–800 reproduction trade 24. What separates it from that trade is the named process, a specific painter, a signature, a certificate and photographs of the work in progress, which is the proof the French sources say a bare 'hand-painted' claim lacks 2425. A buyer who wants a named French artist or a work that may appreciate should go to the Marais or Carré d'artistes 136135; a buyer who needs a 2 m canvas in a chosen palette within two weeks has, on the evidence here, few French options at any price. The demand is visible: Maison et Vie reports interior architects favouring one large-format work 155, Villa-des-Prés in Saint-Germain hangs only original works in very large formats with no reproductions or prints 109, and half of French buyers of originals already buy direct from the artist 184. It is not a growing segment on its own, though: sales below USD 50,000 fell 2% worldwide in 2025 even as France's total grew 9% 174.
From the catalogue
Vertical works listing 250 cm — for 3.20 m ceilings and the end of the enfilade 54
Panoramic formats for the double réception and the long villa wall 106
Textured & Plaster in beige, sand, cream and white — matte finish for glazed rooms 186
Abstract in slate blue, deep blue, olive, sage and celadon 190
Questions buyers in France ask
- What does an original painting cost in a French gallery?
- At Carré d'artistes, a 36 × 36 cm certified original was €499 and a 120 × 120 cm work €3,800–3,900 in September 2026 2134. In the Marais, a July 2026 guide puts emerging-gallery works at €1,500–15,000 and represented artists at €3,000–25,000, with blue-chip prices undisclosed 136.
- What is the cheapest canvas sold as hand-painted in France?
- Peintures-sur-toile.com advertises made-to-measure canvases described as 100% hand-painted oil from €49.90 excluding delivery, without stating where they are painted 139. La Maison des Tableaux lists hand-painted pieces at €57.89–164.66 with no sizes 140. One seller states that €250–800 painted reproductions sold in France are all made in Asia 24.
- Why is it hard to find a painting over 150 cm in stock in France?
- Because the stock grids stop early: Carré d'artistes' standard formats end at 120 × 120 cm 134, Art Génération's large-format collection at about 200 × 100 cm 4, and IKEA's largest item is a nine-piece printed set at 179 × 112 cm 138. French commission painters quote six to ten months for large formats 8.
- How much is a square metre of wall art in France?
- About €49 per m² for an IKEA printed canvas (118 × 78 cm, €44.99) 138, €600–830 per m² for large-format gallery originals at Art Génération 4, €900 per m² for a 100 × 80 cm commissioned portrait 7, and €2,640–3,850 per m² for Carré d'artistes originals, September 2026 2134.
- What do French buyers complain about when buying canvases online?
- Individual reviews cite a painting arriving unstretched despite the listing (Artsper, Trustpilot, 2025–26) 127, a work on paper mounted on panel instead of oil on canvas (Carré d'artistes, 2021) 128, a missing hanging hook and a failed GLS delivery (Tableau Deco, 2024–2025) 129, and product photos that hide real size 131.
- What rights do I have if I buy art online in France?
- French distance-selling law gives a 14-day withdrawal right on online art purchases; many platforms extend it to 30 days, according to one gallery, and a certificate of authenticity from the artist or their representative is expected with every work 22. Singulart offers free returns within 14 days of delivery 23.
- Where do French buyers actually buy art?
- In the Ipsos bva survey of December 2025, buyers named the artist directly (39%), a gallery (32%), a brocante (26%), the internet (22%), a fair (19%) and auction (9%); among buyers of originals, 50% bought direct from the artist and 38% in a gallery, and Paris buyers used galleries most, at 43% 184.
Working with us from France
Send a wall size, a palette or a reference code. We quote within one business day, paint to your dimensions, send progress photographs for approval, and deliver free and insured in about ten to thirteen days.
Request a quoteSources
- Peintures par format à acheter I Carré d'artistes · 2026-09-18
- Achat Peintures de 250€ à 1000€ & Tableaux | Carré d'artistes · 2026-09-18
- Grand Tableau & Tableau Grand Format | Art Génération · 2026-09-18
- Quel est le prix d'un tableau fait main sur toile ? – Biacha · 2025-08-03
- Prix et commande de portrait sur toile – L'Art du Portrait · 2026-09-18
- Tarif Commande de peinture d'après photos | Virginie Trabaud · 2026-09-18
- Peintures Grands Formats | Florence Laurent Artiste peintre · 2026-09-18
- Tableau du monde | La Maison des Tableaux · 2026-09-18
- Artmarket.com publie le 32e Rapport Artprice du Marché de l'Art en 2025 · 2026-03-10
- Fevad – Marché du meuble 2025 : e-commerce et seconde main · 2025-11-13
- Galerie Clavreul – Acheter un tableau d'art contemporain en ligne · 2025
- Singulart : acheter de l'art à l'international sur un site tiers de confiance · 2025
- Vous achetez déjà vos tableaux en Chine, sans le savoir · 2025-02-15
- Toile et peinture usine – Forum Chine Informations · 2009-11-11
- Art Advisory - muzeo
- Catawiki — Rétrospective 2024 : l'art et la pop culture au sommet des enchères en France · 2025-02-19
- Architecte intérieur Côte d'Azur — Collaborer avec Espace Soardi · 2025-08-19 (year inferred; page dated 19 August)
- Les meilleurs hôtels qui abritent des collections d'œuvres d'art à Paris (Time Out Paris) · 2025-03-10
- Tableau mural XXL - Scenolia · 2026-09-18
- Singulart - Wikipedia · 2026-09-18
- Avis de Singulart - Trustpilot · 2026-08-04
- Artsper reviews - Trustpilot · 2025-11-01
- Avis de Carré d'artistes - Trustpilot · 2021-12-29
- Avis de Tableau Deco - Trustpilot · 2026-08-01
- Temu : les 3 techniques photo qui trompent des millions d'acheteurs · 2026-04-28
- Carré d'artistes – Paintings by price · 2026-09-18
- Carré d'artistes – Galerie Paris Saint-Germain Grands formats · 2026-09-18
- Merveil Paris – Galeries d'art dans le Marais en 2026 : le parcours · 2026-07-30
- Marie Boudon – Comparatif 2025 des galeries d'art en ligne · 2025
- IKEA France – Tableaux et art mural · 2026-09-18
- Peintures-sur-toile.com – Tableau pas cher · 2026-09-18
- La Maison des Tableaux · 2026-09-18
- Alibaba (fr) – Reproduction tableau Chine fabricants · 2026-09-18
- Décoration murale pour le salon : 8 idées tendances en 2026 – Maison et Vie · 2026-03-13
- Tendances déco murale 2026 – Blog Scenolia · 2025-12-12
- Tableau tendance 2026 – Scenolia · 2026
- Art Basel and UBS Global Art Market Report 2026 (10th edition) · 2026-04
- CPGA — Baromètre 2025 des galeries d'art (données 2024) · 2025-07
- Appartenances — État des lieux des galeries d'art en France en 2025 · 2025-03-15
- L'Ameublement français / IPEA — Dossier de presse Conférence Ameublement, 3 février 2026 · 2026-02-03
- Ipsos bva / Beaux Arts Magazine / CESI — Les Français et l'art, rapport complet (p.2 methodology) · 2026-01-23
- Artsper FR — Peinture abstraite / figurative / portrait / paysage / nature morte category pages (nbHits counts) · 2026-09-19
Researched 2026-09-19. Prices and figures are as published by the sources on the dates shown.